Shop Now
Uploaded Ad

Roadrunners women to host annual Ricardo Romo Classic on Friday evening

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 09/20/2013
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

SAN ANTONIO — The women's cross country team will return to the course on Friday evening when it hosts the annual UTSA Ricardo Romo Classic presented by H-E-B. The 5,000-meter race is scheduled to start at 6:30 p.m. at the National Shooting Complex off Culebra Road (2 Gass Road; San Antonio, TX 78253).

The Roadrunners will welcome nine schools — Concordia Texas, Schreiner, Southwestern, Texas, Texas-Pan American, Texas A&M International, Texas A&M-Kingsville, Texas Lutheran and Trinity — to the meet and a total of 100 student-athletes will make up the field.

Admission is free and directions to the course can be found in the related links box toward the top right of this release.

UTSA is the two-time defending meet champion and Alyssa Diaz was victorious a year ago.

The Roadrunners, who did not compete last weekend, are coming off their third consecutive victory at the Texas Lutheran Invitational on Sept. 7.

Nina Herrera raced to the individual title for the first victory of her four-year career. Meanwhile, Samantha Fish crossed the tape second in 19:08.36 and Emily Perez (19:24.08/fourth), Sarah Wedgeworth (19:33.26/sixth) and Isabel Balbontin (19:38.48/eighth) rounded out the team's scorers.

Women's Cross Country News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments