Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Roadrunners women roll to TLU Invitational title on Saturday

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 09/08/2012
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

SEGUIN — UTSA saw all its runners finish in the top seven and the Roadrunners successfully defended their TLU Invitational title on Saturday.

Junior Alyssa Diaz led the UTSA contingent with the first victory of her career. The Hereford native circled the 5,000-meter loop in 18:41.24, while classmate Samantha Fish clocked a 19:09.12 for her second consecutive second-place finish to open the season.

Juniors Nina Herrera (19:19.00) and Jessica Bitterly (19:19.81) and freshman Emily Perez (19:35.78) rounded out the Roadrunners' scorers by finishing in third through fifth, respectively, which gave UTSA a perfect team score of 15.

Sophomore Carly Kitts (19.39.67) and junior Isabel Balbontin (19:48.34) rounded out the top seven.

Texas Lutheran (84), Concordia Texas (87), St. Mary's (102), Texas A&M-Kingsville (127), Prairie View A&M (146), Texas A&M International (163) and Schreiner (232) finished behind UTSA in the team standings.

The Roadrunners will be back in action next Friday, Sept. 14, when they host the UTSA Ricardo Romo Classic presented by H-E-B and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. The 5k race is scheduled to begin at 6:30 p.m.

Women's Cross Country News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments