Shop Now
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Cross country/track & field programs recognize 2009-10 award winners

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics Communications
Release: 01/13/2011
Courtesy UTSA Athletics Communications
Print RSS
SAN ANTONIO — The UTSA cross country and track & field programs gathered on Saturday to recognize and honor their accomplishments during the 2009-10 seasons. Below is a list of this past year's award winners.

Southland Conference Championships
· Indoor (men)
· Outdoor (men)

Cross Country MVP
· Cole Reveal (men)
· Dana Mecke (women)

Cross Country Top Southland Perfomer
· Cole Reveal (men)
· Kayla Pratt (women)

Indoor MVP
· Teddy Williams (men)
· Dana Mecke (women)

Outdoor MVP

· Devon Bond (men)
· Dana Mecke (women)

Indoor High-Point Scorer
· Teddy Williams (men)
· Pernilla Savestrand (women)

Outdoor High-Point Scorer
· Devon Bond (men)
· Dana Mecke (women)

Freshmen of the Year
· Richard Garrett Jr., Keith Benford (men)
· Katie Bragg (women)

Breakthrough Award
· Devon Bond, Albert Cardenas, Ivan Garcia, Lucas Neeper (men)
· Pernilla Savestrand (women)

Sacrifice Award

· Kyle Kaase (men)
· Aimee Jonas, Kayla Pratt (women)

Contributors of the Year
· Johnathan Whittaker, Corey Vargas (men)
· Jessica Jones, Kayla Pratt (women)

Athlete of the Year
· Teddy Williams (men)
· Dana Mecke (women)

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
· Phil Steinert (men)
· Kayla Pratt (women)

Academic Perfection Award
· Nate Brunette, Cole Reveal, Phil Steinert, Colin Thomas, Dominick Zucconi (men)
· Kayla Pratt (women)

Team Captains
· Corey Vargas, Johnathan Whittaker (men)
· Rebekah Hill, Jessica Jones, Dana Mecke (women)

Assistant Coaches of the Year
· Chris Adams (throws), David Burnett (sprints/relays), Scott Slade (cross country/distance), Virginia Coindreau (cross country/distance)

Student-Athlete Excellence Award
(3.5 or higher GPA/scored at a Southland Conference meet)
· Devon Bond, Cole Reveal, Phil Steinert (men)
· Jessica Bitterly, Katie Bragg, Jessica Jones, Dana Mecke, Courtney Nelson, Kayla Pratt, Pernilla Savestrand (women) 

Indoor All- Southland Conference
Teddy Williams - 1st (60m); 1st (200m)
Albert Cardenas - 1st (DMR); 2nd (mile)
Brandon Chiuminetta - 1st (DMR)
Canel Cole - 1st (DMR)
Bryan Ugochukwu - 1st (DMR); 3rd (800m)
Keith Benford - 1st (high jump)
Devon Bond - 1st (triple jump); 3rd (high jump)
Richard Garrett Jr. - 2nd (shot put)
Tyler Williamson - 3rd (long jump)

Jayde James - 1st (DMR); 3rd (800m)
Jessica Jones - 1st (60m hurdles)
Dana Mecke - 1st (800m); 1st (mile)
Briony Miller - 1st (DMR)
Kayla Pratt - 1st (5,000m); 1st (DMR)
Pernilla Savestrand - 1st (3,000m); 1st (DMR); 2nd (mile)

Outdoor All-Southland Conference
Devon Bond - 1st (high jump); 1st (triple jump)
Teddy Williams - 1st (100m); 2nd (200m)
Tyler Williamson - 1st (long jump)
Canel Cole - 2nd (800m)
Richard Garrett Jr. - 2nd (discus)
Bryan Ugochukwu - 3rd (800m)
Ivan Garcia - 3rd (10,000m)
Adam Hebert - 3rd (long jump)
Lucas Neeper - 3rd (pole vault)
Cole Reveal - 3rd (1,500m)

Jessica Jones - 1st (100m hurdles)
Dana Mecke - 1st (800m); 1st (1,500m)
Katie Bragg - 2nd (hammer throw)
Aimee Jonas - 3rd (heptathlon)

Women's Cross Country News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments