Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Medrano leads Roadrunners to UTSA Ricardo Romo Classic Championship

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 09/14/2012
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

SAN ANTONIO — Sophomore Mike Medrano won for the second consecutive week and the Roadrunners men's cross country team successfully defended its UTSA Ricardo Romo Classic title on Friday night.

Medrano covered the water-logged 5,000-meter loop in 15:31.7 and he easily defeated junior teammate Kyle Hawley by nearly 19 seconds (15:50.1).

Classmate Harvinder Singh clocked a 15:58.8 en route to a fourth-place performance, while senior Daniel Balbontin crossed the line fifth in 16:06. Sophomore Tony Jaramillo rounded out UTSA's scorers with his seventh-place effort (16:07).

The Roadrunners netted 18 points on their way to their second team championship in the last two weeks. Texas-Pan American (57), Texas-Permain Basin (94) Texas A&M International (134) and Concordia Texas (136) rounded out the top five.

UTSA will be back in action in two weeks when it travels to Austin for the Grass Routes Grand Prix.

Men's Cross Country News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments