Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Get to know the UTEP Miners

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 07/16/2013
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

General information
Location: El Paso, Texas
Founded: 1914
Enrollment: 22,640
Nickname: Miners
President: Dr. Diana Natalicio
Athletics Director: Bob Stull
Football Facility: Sun Bowl (51,500)
Basketball Facility: Don Haskins Center (12,000)
Media Market: No. 91 El Paso (339,130 TV households)
Sponsored Sports: 16
Men (6) — basketball, cross country, football, golf, indoor & outdoor track & field
Women (9) — basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, indoor & outdoor track & field, volleyball
Coed (1) — rifle

On the Web
Facebook: UTEPAthletics
Twitter: @UTEPAthletics

Prominent facts
· UTEP was ranked 12th by Washington Monthly magazine for overall impact on students, surrounding region and the nation.

· The university's research expenditures have grown steadily to more than $76 million per year.

· UTEP recently invested $400 million to build state-of-the-art facilities in research, teaching, student support and athletics.

· The Miners have won a combined of 25 NCAA Division I Championships in addition to 78 conference titles. Perhaps the most notable of the achievements was the men’s basketball team beating Kentucky for the 1966 NCAA Championship. The game had a huge impact on race and sport with UTEP becoming the first team to start five African-Americans. The Miners are the only Division I university in the state of Texas to win an NCAA men’s basketball national title.

· Other national crowns for UTEP include 13 by men’s track & field and seven from men’s cross country.

· The men's cross country program has won four Conference USA Championships, including three consecutive from 2005-07. The 2007 squad recorded the league’s first perfect score by claiming the top five individual spots.

Notable alumni
· Nate Aarchibald — National Basketball Association Hall of Famer who is one of the league's 50 greatest players
· Bob Beamon — Olympic track & field gold medalist and world record holder in the long jump
· Hank Cohen — President, MGM Television
· Antonio Davis — Former National Basketball Association All-Star forward
· Sam Donaldson — Former ABC News anchor and reporter
· Maj. Gen. Stanley E. Green — U.S. Army
· Tim Hardaway — Former National Basketball Association All-Star and Olympic gold medalist
· Shoshana Johnson — U.S. Army Specialist and former Iraq POW
· Seth Joyner — Two-time Super Bowl champion and 1991 National Football League Defensive Player of the Year
· Bob O’Rear — Co-founder, Microsoft
· Nolan Richardson — Former NCAA men’s basketball head coach who led Arkansas to the 1994 National Championship

Athletics News
2015 senior class tribute video
H-E-B UTSA Roadrunners Store
Roadrunner Athletic Fund Thank-A-Thon
Join The Movement
UTSA Athletics holiday message
Rowdy's Mailbag
2012-13 UTSA Athletics highlight video
Christmas Time In San Antonio