Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Get to know the Rice Owls

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 06/24/2013
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

General information
Location: Houston, Texas
Founded: 1912
Enrollment: 6,082
Nickname: Owls
President: David W. Leebron
Athletics Director: Rick Greenspan
Football Facility: Rice Stadium (47,000)
Basketball Facility: Tudor Fieldhouse (5,208)
Media Market: No. 10 Houston (2,215,650 TV households)
Sponsored Sports: 16
Men (8) — baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, tennis, indoor & outdoor track & field
Women (8) — basketball, cross country, soccer, softball, tennis, indoor & outdoor track & field, volleyball

On the Web
Facebook: RiceAthletics
Twitter: @RiceOwlsdotcom

Prominent facts
· The Rice Board of Trustees approved a $44.5 million project at Rice Stadium that will include construction of a two-story facility near the south end zone, eight suites, a plaza area and other deferred maintenance to the 61-year-old stadium. A $27 million renovation of Tudor Fieldhouse was completed within the last five years.

· Rice’s small size allows personal interaction between students and professors, while the faculty fosters the intellectual excitement of a major research university. Undergraduates at all levels participate in cutting-edge research with world-class faculty in the humanities, social sciences, engineering and natural sciences. Premier architecture and music professors enhance classroom experiences with their exceptional talent and artistry.

· Rice offers a residential college system that builds communities that are both close-knit and diverse.

· Rice claimed the 2012 Armed Forces Bowl Championship with a 33-14 victory against Air Force. It was the Owls’ third bowl appearance since joining Conference USA and 10th overall.

· Rice baseball has qualified for the last 19 NCAA Tournaments, including seven College World Series appearances, the Owls won the 2003 National Championship. Rice has won either the regular season or tournament title in all eight years as a member of Conference USA. They have hosted an NCAA Regional in 10 of the last 13 seasons.

Notable alumni
· Lance Berkman — Major League Baseball All-Star first baseman and outfielder
· Ron Bozman — Academy Award-winning producer of Silence of the Lambs and executive producer of Philadelphia, Beloved and For Love of the Game
· William Broyles — Former editor, Texas Monthly; former editor-in-chief, Newsweek; screenwriter
· James Casey — National Football League tight end for the Philadelphia Eagles and Houston Texans
· Robert Curl — 1996 Nobel Laureate
· Charles Duncan — Former U.S. Secretary of Energy and former president, Coca-Cola
· Henry Hernandez — Managing director, Soza International
· Roy Hofheinz — Texas state legislator, judge, sports magnate, circus owner and radio tycoon
· Mary E. Johnston — Editor, Fortune, and founder of the Fortune 500
· Larry McMurtry — Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Lonesome Dove, Terms of Endearment and Last Picture Show
· Jim Newman — NASA astronaut
· Sam Reed — President & CEO, Keebler

Athletics News
2015 senior class tribute video
H-E-B UTSA Roadrunners Store
Roadrunner Athletic Fund Thank-A-Thon
Join The Movement
UTSA Athletics holiday message
Rowdy's Mailbag
2012-13 UTSA Athletics highlight video
Christmas Time In San Antonio