Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Southland Conference Tournament field set

Print RSS

FRISCO — Texas State has earned the top seed in the 2012 Southland Conference Tournament, which will get underway on Thursday, May 10, at Roadrunner Field in San Antonio.

The Bobcats swept Sam Houston State in the final league series of the season to claim their sixth regular season championship and its fourth in the last five years. Texas State (35-15) won 18 of its 20 games against conference foes this spring. The Bobcats will be making their 14th consecutive trip to the postseason event and 17th appearance overall. Texas State, which will have a first-round bye, will play the winner of the game one matchup between No. 4. UTSA and fifth-seeded Central Arkansas at 4 p.m. on Thursday.

Sam Houston State (26-19) put together its best season since 2007 to earn the No. 2 seed with a 14-6 Southland record. After starting the season 1-13, the Bearkats have turned their season around by winning 25 of their last 31 games. Sam Houston State will be appearing in its 10th tournament and first since 2007 when it won the title. The Bearkats, who have the tournament's other bye, will play the winner of the second contest between third seed McNeese State and No. 6 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday.

The three-day tournament opens at 11 a.m. on Thursday when UTSA takes on Central Arkansas.

The Roadrunners (23-26) will be making their 13th overall appearance in the postseason after finishing the league slate at 12-8, while the Bears (36-20) qualified for their first-ever Southland Tournament wth a 12-8 conference ledger. Central Arkansas has posted the most wins in program history, but UTSA swept the Bears in an April 7 doubleheader at Roadrunner Field by scores of 3-0 and 2-1.

No. 3 McNeese State will face sixth seed Texas A&M-Corpus Christi the other opening round tilt.

The Cowgirls (32-19), who have won at least 30 games the last four seasons, qualified for their conference-leading 22nd Southland Tournament with a 12-8 league record, while the Islanders (17-21) enter their third consecutive postseason following an 11-9 mark in conference play. McNeese State swept Texas A&M-Corpus Christi by scores of 3-2 and 1-0 from April 27-28.

The double-elimination event will determine the Southland’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

There will be a minimum of 10 games played during the three days. Start times the first two days of the tournament will be 11 a.m., 1:30 p.m., 4 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. Up to three games could be played Saturday, with the first scheduled for 10:30 a.m. and championship game is scheduled for 2 p.m. An 11th tilt will be played between the teams in Game 10 to determine the champion if it is the first loss for the losing team. That start time is TBA.

An all-tournament pass, which allows entry into all 11 possible games of the tournament, is $17 for adults or $12 for youths. An all-day pass, which will include four games on Friday and Saturday with the maximum of three games on Sunday, is $9 for adults and $7 for youths. All students of Southland schools will receive free admission with a valid student ID and all children ages five and younger also will be admitted free.

To purchase tickets, call the UTSA Athletics Ticket Office at (210) 458-8872 or click here.

The entire tournament will be streamed on SLC NOW, with the exception of the championship game, which will be available exclusively on

2012 Southland Conference Tournament Ticket Options (May 10-12)
· All Tournament Pass — $17 Adults/$12 Youth
· Single Day Pass — $9 Adults/$12 Youth

2012 Southland Conference Tournament Schedule
Thursday, May 10
Game 1: #4 UTSA (23-26) vs. #5 Central Arkansas (36-20), 11 a.m.
Game 2: #3 McNeese State (32-19) vs. #6 Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (17-21), 1:30 p.m.
Game 3: #1 Texas State (35-15) vs. Winner Game 1, 4 p.m.
Game 4: #2 Sam Houston State (26-19) vs. Winner Game 2, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, May 11
Game 5: Loser Game 2 vs. Loser Game 3, 11 a.m.
Game 6: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 4, 1:30 p.m.
Game 7: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 4 p.m.
Game 8: Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 12
Game 9: Loser Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8, 10:30 a.m.
Game 10: Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 9, 2 p.m.
Game 11: if necessary ^

^ A second game will be played between the teams in Game 10 to determine the champion if it is the first loss for the losing team. Game 11 start time is TBA.

Softball News
Louisiana Tech postgame comments
UTEP postgame comments
Michelle Cheatham interview
UAB postgame comments
Stephen F. Austin postgame comments
Megan Low home run
Michelle Cheatham interview
Michelle Cheatham Interview