Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Roadrunners place four players on All-Southland Conference teams

Print RSS
FRISCO — Sophomore Anka Grotle was named first-team All-Southland Conference for the second consecutive year to lead a group of four UTSA players that earned all-league honors on Tuesday.

The Bremanger, Norway, native is the first player in program history to earn first-team accolades in back-to-back seasons and the first repeat selection since Ezinne Okpo was named to the league’s top squad in 2007 and again in '09. It also marked the sixth time in program history that a UTSA player has been named to the conference's top team.

Grotle has started all 18 matches this season and registered seven points (three goals/one assist) while helping anchor a Roadrunners defense that has notched seven shutouts, including four in Southland play. Since the start of league play, UTSA is limiting opponents to just one goal per match.

Meanwhile, sophomore Maria Jose Rojas and freshman Liv Nyhegn were named to the second team.

Rojas, who earned second-team honors a year ago, leads the team with 20 points on the strength of a team-leading eight goals and four assists. The Santiago, Chile, native has started 15 matches, owns a pair of game-winning strikes and logged an .821 shot-on-goal percentage. In conference play, Rojas scored three times and added a pair of helpers.

Nyhegn is tied with Rojas for the team lead with eight goals and she also has three assists. The Middelfart, Denmark, native led the squad with nine points (four goals/one assist) in Southland action and her four game-winning goals rank second among conference players.

Sophomore goalkeeper Danielle Snyder was the other Roadrunner to be recognized, as she earned honorable mention accolades.

The Buda native has made nine starts between the pipes this fall and allowed just six goals in nearly 826 minutes of play. She enters the postseason with 34 saves and a 6-1-2 record on the season. Snyder posted 4-1-1 mark with a pair of shutouts and allowed just 0.33 goals per match in league outings.

Stephen F. Austin midfielder Kylie Louw was named Player of the Year for the second year in a row, while the Ladyjacks’ Chelsea Raymond earned Freshman of the Year honors. Texas State’s Andrea Mauk was named Newcomer of the Year. Meanwhile, SFA head coach Tony Amato was named Coach of the Year after leading the Ladyjacks to the league’s regular season championship.

The fourth-seeded Roadrunners (8-8-2) open defense of their Southland Tournament at 7 p.m. on Thursday against No. 5 seed Southeastern Louisiana (11-6-1) in Natchitoches, La. The Lady Lions handed UTSA a 1-0 setback in Hammond last Sunday.

Soccer News
Soccer Meet & Greet
UTSA Athletics holiday message
McNeese State post-match comments