Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

King tabbed third-team All-Western Athletic Conference on Monday

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 03/11/2013
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Western Athletic Conference (WAC) announced its postseason awards on Monday and sophomore guard Kamra King was named to the league’s third team.

The Norman, Okla., native leads UTSA in scoring at nine points per game to go along with three rebounds, 2.1 steals and two assists per outing. Her 29.4 minutes per game and 69 free throws are tops on the team, while she is second on the squad with 80 field goals and 33 3-pointers. King’s 86 rebounds, 62 steals and 59 assists are all career highs.

In conference play, King averaged a team-leading 9.1 points along with 3.1 boards, 2.3 assists and 2.1 steals per game. She set career highs with 23 points, eight rebounds and five steals in the Roadrunners’ win at UT Arlington on Jan. 10 and she poured in 22 points in Saturday’s season finale against Utah State.

Seattle forward Kacie Sowell was named the WAC Player of the Year after leading the circuit in field goal percentage (56.3) and she is averaging 16 points and 9.9 rebounds per game. Sowell teamed with Defensive Player of the Year Slyvia Shephard and Coach of the Year Joan Bonvicini to lead the Redhawks to a league title with a 15-3 record in their first season as a WAC member. Meanwhile, New Mexico State’s Stefanie Gilbreath took home Newcomer of the Year honors.

2012-13 All-Western Athletic Conference Postseason Awards

First Team
Alyssa Charlston, Jr., F,  Idaho
Devyn Christensen, Sr., G, Utah State
Ta’Rea Cunnigan, So., G, San Jose State
Diamond Ford, Sr., G, Texas State
Kacie Sowell, Jr., F, Seattle

Second Team
Whitney Frazier, So., F, Louisiana Tech
Stefanie Gilbreath, Sr., G, New Mexico State
Jennifer Schlott, Jr., G, Utah State
Sylvia Shephard, Jr., G, Seattle
Emiko Smith, Sr., G, Denver

Third Team
Stacey Barr, So., G, Idaho
Riana Byrd, Fr., F, San Jose State
Jenna Johnson, Sr., G, Utah State
Kamra King So., G, UTSA
Brittany Lewis, Sr., F, Louisiana Tech

All-Defensive Team
Daidra Brown, Sr., G, Seattle
Riana Byrd, Fr., F, San Jose State
Jenna Johnson, Sr., G, Utah State
Maiya Michel, Jr., F, Denver
Sylvia Shephard, Jr., G, Seattle

All-Freshman Team
Riana Byrd, F, San Jose State
Kailey Edwards, G, Denver
Erin Peoples, F, Texas State
Lulu Perry, G, Louisiana Tech
Christina Salvatore, G, Idaho

Player of the Year: Kacie Sowell, Seattle
Defensive Player of the Year: Sylvia Shephard, Seattle
Newcomer of the Year: Stefanie Gilbreath, New Mexico State
Coach of the Year: Joan Bonvicini, Seattle

Women's Basketball News
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Middle Tennessee Postgame Comments
UAB Postgame Comments
Luby Lichonczak Coach's Show
Texas Southern Postgame Comments
Texas A&M-Kingsville Postgame Comments
Howard Payne Postgame Comments