Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Gregg, Franklin named to All-Southland Conference squads on Monday

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics Communications
Release: 03/07/2011
Courtesy UTSA Athletics Communications
Print RSS
FRISCO — Seniors Amber Gregg and Ashleigh Franklin earned second- and third-team All-Southland Conference honors, respectively, the league office announced on Monday.

Gregg, a 5-foot-6 guard, picked up the first all-conference nod of her career. She leads UTSA in scoring at 14.1 points per game, which ranks 10th in the circuit. That average jumped to 15.1 ppg in conference action. She also paces the team in free throws (120), free throw percentage (.845), assists per game (3.3) and points (382), all of which are career highs.

The Austin native set the program’s all-time 3-pointers mark earlier this season and has 198 heading into this week’s Southland Tournament. She also became the 12th player in program history to reach 1,000 career points and currently sits ninth on UTSA’s all-time scoring chart with 1,128 points. Gregg tied a program record with 17 free throws in a Feb. 26 contest with I-35 rival Texas State when she scored a season-high 29 points.

Meanwhile, Franklin earned her second consecutive third-team selection. The 5-foot-6 forward leads the Roadrunners with six double-doubles this year, including a 16-point, 19-rebound performance in which she set a career best with 10 offensive rebounds against Sam Houston State on Jan. 8. Her 8.3 rebounds per game lead the squad and rank sixth in the conference, while her 10.8 points per contest are third on the team.

Her production also jumped in league action, where she averaged 11.7 points and 8.7 boards per contest. The Dallas native led the team in rebounding eight times during the 16-game league slate and she tied a career high by playing all 50 minutes of a double-overtime game against Nicholls on Feb. 19.

Central Arkansas' Megan Herbert was named Southland Player of the Year, Lamar's Monique Whittaker was tabbed Newcomer of the Year, Nicholls' KK Babin earned Freshman of the Year and UT Arlington’s Shalyn Martin was selected as Defensive Player of the Year. McNeese State’s Brooks Donald Williams earned Coach of the Year honors after leading the Cowgirls to a 15-1 conference record.

Herbert was joined on the first team by Lamar’s Jenna Plumley and Kalis Loyd, McNeese State's Ashlyn Baggett of McNeese State and Sam Houston State's Britni Martin.

Gregg and Martin were joined on the second team by McNeese State's Caitlyn Baggett, Stephen F. Austin's Tammara Marion and Sam Houston State's Sequeena Thomas.

Northwestern State's Brittiany Houston, Southeastern Louisiana's Rashima Jenkins and UT Arlington's Tamara Simmons accompanied Franklin and Whittaker on the third team.

The all-conference teams were chosen from a combined vote of the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

The West Division Champion Roadrunners (15-14) enter this week's Southland Tournament as the No. 4 seed and they will take on fifth-seeded Sam Houston State (17-13) in the fourth and final quarterfinal at 8:30 p.m. on Tuesday. The two teams split the season series with UTSA dropping a 62-53 decision on Jan. 8 in Huntsville before picking up a 75-66 victory in the Alamo City three weeks later.

Women's Basketball News
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Middle Tennessee Postgame Comments
UAB Postgame Comments
Luby Lichonczak Coach's Show
Texas Southern Postgame Comments
Texas A&M-Kingsville Postgame Comments
Howard Payne Postgame Comments