Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Southland Conference announces all-time honor roll for women's indoor track & field

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 03/11/2014
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

FRISCO — The Southland Conference, as part of its year-long 50th Anniversary commemoration, announced its all-time women’s indoor track & field honor roll on Thursday.

The list includes 74 elite student-athletes in the sport going back to the league's first indoor championship meet, which occurred in 1987. Three head coaches also were recognized for their historic contributions to the sport.

"The Southland Conference has always prided itself on its successful track & field history and we’re pleased to recognize such an illustrious honor roll of great student-athletes and coaches," Southland Commissioner Tom Burnett said.

Performers selected had multiple accomplishments during their careers, including numerous conference championships won, records set, NCAA and National Championships, along with participation in international competition.

UTSA ranked third with nine honorees, which only was behind Texas State and UT Arlington, who both had 16.

Janet Booker, Kim Bush, Ryanne Dupree, Liza Hunter, Jessica Jones, Dana Mecke, Katie Poindexter, Rhonda Ray and Tameka Roberts were the nine Roadrunners honored, while Shawn Flanagan, who led UTSA from 1986-96, was one of the three head coaches recognized.

Southland Conference 50th Anniversary All-Time Women’s Indoor Track & Field Honor Roll
(UTSA honorees)

Janet Booker (jumps)
1993-94 Southland Indoor High Jump Champion.

Kim Bush (throws)
1992, '94 Southland Indoor Shot Put Champion.

Ryanne Dupree (pentathlon)
2004, 2006 Southland Indoor Pentathlon Champion; 2006 Southland Indoor Championships High-Point Scorer (28.5); 2006 Southland Indoor Athlete of the Year; set all-time Southland and meet pentathlon record (4,055 pointss/2006); 2006 NCAA All-American.

Liza Hunter (distances)
1992 Southland Indoor Mile & Two-Mile Champion; set Southland Indoor Championships record in two-mile run (10:43.94/1992).

Jessica Jones (hurdles)
2009-10 Southland Indoor 60-Meter Hurdles Champion.

Dana Mecke (distances)
2008-10 Southland Indoor 800 Meters Champion; 2009-10 Southland Indoor Mile Champion; 2009 Southland Indoor Outstanding Track Performer.

Katie Poindexter (distances)
2003 Southland Indoor 800 Meters Champion; set all-time Southland record in the 800 meters (2:06.05/2003).

Rhonda Ray (pentathlon)
2001-03 Southland Indoor Pentathlon Champion.

Tameka Roberts (sprints/jumps)
1996-98 Southland Indoor 55 Meters Champion; 1996-98 Southland Indoor 200 Meters Champion; 1997 Southland Indoor 400 Meters Champion; 1996, '98 Southland Indoor Long Jump Champion; 1996-98 Southland Indoor Outstanding Track Performer; 1998 Southland Indoor Outstanding Field Performer; 1996-98 Southland Indoor Championships High-Point Scorer (30/23/37.5); 1996-98 Southland Indoor Athlete of the Year; set all-time Southland 200 meters record (23.04/1998); holds all-time Southland Indoor Championships 55 meters record (6.89/1998); 1996 NCAA All-American in long jump; 1997-98 NCAA All-American in 200 meters.

Shawn Flanagan
Currently the head coach at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Flanagan led UTSA to Southland Indoor Championships from 1992-94 and was named league Coach of the Year each of those seasons.

Women's Basketball News
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Middle Tennessee Postgame Comments
UAB Postgame Comments
Luby Lichonczak Coach's Show
Texas Southern Postgame Comments
Texas A&M-Kingsville Postgame Comments
Howard Payne Postgame Comments