Shop Now
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Hill named Southland Conference Student-Athlete of the Year

Print RSS

FRISCO — Sophomore Jeromie Hill was named the Southland Conference Men’s Basketball Student-Athlete of the Year and sophomore Igor Nujic was tabbed to the league's all-academic second team, the league office announced on Wednesday.

Hill averaged 12.5 points and a team-high 6.4 rebounds per game to help the Roadrunners to an 18-14 record during the 2011-12 campaign. The 6-foot-8 forward shot 48.6 percent from the floor, including 40.7 percent (35-of-86) from behind the 3-point line, and recorded 48 assists, 30 steals and 22 blocks in starting all 32 contests. In Southland play, he averaged a team-best 12.9 points and 6.3 rebounds. The Cairns, Australia, native carries a 3.25 GPA and has yet to declare a major. A second-team all-conference and NABC All-District 23 honoree, Hill collected UTSA’s third consecutive Southland Student-Athlete of the Year award. He is the third Roadrunner to win the award, joining two-time winners Kurt Attaway (2005, '06) and Devin Gibson (2010, '11).

Meanwhile, Nujic was one of five players chosen to the second team. The 6-8 forward averaged 5.8 points and 2.7 rebounds per game and shot 42.1 percent from the field and 76.3 percent at the free-throw line to go along with 23 assists, 15 steals and eight blocks. The Perth, Australia, native played in all 32 games (five starts) and he posted 6.4 points and 3.3 boards per contest in league play. He came on strong late in the season, averaging 13 points and 4.4 rebounds while shooting 50 percent (22-of-44) during the last five contests. The business major carries a 3.18 GPA.

With Hill and Nujic’s selections, five Roadrunners have combined to garner nine Southland All-Academic honors since the 2004-05 season.

The Southland Conference awards committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 12 member schools, voted for the Student-Athlete of the Year. The award is presented annually to the student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees must have at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated achievement in athletics for at least two years at the nominating institution.

The all-academic teams are voted on by the head coaches, sports information directors and academic advisors from each Southland university. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team's competition to qualify for the all-academic squad.

2011-12 Southland Conference Men’s Basketball All-Academic Teams
First Team
Jeromie Hill, UTSA — Student-Athlete of the Year
Brandon Davis, Lamar
Desmond Haymon, Stephen F. Austin
Konner Tucker, Sam Houston State
Brooks Ybarra, Texas State

Second Team  
Jordan Kirschke, Texas State
Igor Nujic, UTSA
Onochie Ochie   Southeastern Louisiana
Gary Stewart, Northwestern State
Ted Wang, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Men's Basketball News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
Rice Postgame Comments
North Texas Postgame Comments