Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Hill earns NABC All-District 23 accolades on Wednesday

Print RSS

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Sophomore Jeromie Hill earned second-team All-District 23 honors, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced on Wednesday.

Hill, a 6-foot-8 forward from Cairns, Australia, averaged 12.5 points and a team-best 6.4 rebounds per game this season. He also shot 46.1 percent from the floor and 40.7 percent (35-of-86) from behind the 3-point line. Hill, a second-team All-Southland Conference selection and the 2011 Southland Freshman of the Year, posted a pair of double-doubles and topped 20 points three times, including a 24-point, 11-rebound performance in the 80-75 victory at I-35 rival Texas State on Jan. 21. The Preseason Lou Henson All-American was tabbed Southland Player of the Week two days later and he also recorded 48 assists, 30 steals and 22 blocks on the year. In conference play, Hill posted 12.9 points on 51.6-percent shooting and averaged 6.3 boards per contest.

Hill was joined by fellow Southland players Bo Ingram (UT Arlington) and Anthony Miles (Lamar), as well as the Mississippi Valley State duo of Paul Crosby and Terrence Joyner on the second team.

Mike James (Lamar), William Mosley (Northwestern State), LaMarcus Reed (UT Arlington), Southland Player of the Year Patrick Richard (McNeese State) and Jereal Scott (Stephen F. Austin) comprised the first team.

Hill is the seventh Roadrunner to earn NABC all-district accolades and second in the last two years, as Devin Gibson was the first UTSA player to earn first-team honors in 2011. Other all-district Roadrunners include Eric Cooper (1989), Marlon Anderson (1996), Roderic Hall (1998), Devin Brown (2001, '02) and LeRoy Hurd (2004).

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, the 240 student-athletes from 24 districts are eligible for the NABC Coaches’ Division I All-America teams, which will be announced on Tuesday, March 20.

Located in Kansas City, Mo., the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest “Phog” Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today’s student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found here.

Men's Basketball News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
Rice Postgame Comments
North Texas Postgame Comments