Shop Now
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Three Roadrunners honored by Southland Conference on Tuesday

Print RSS

FRISCO — UTSA sophomore Jeromie Hill and juniors Melvin Johnson III and Kannon Burrage were named to the All-Southland Conference teams, the league office announced on Tuesday.

Hill was named to the second squad, Johnson III was voted to the third team and Burrage collected honorable mention accolades in a vote by the conference head coaches and sports information directors.

It is the second all-league honor for Hill, a 6-foot-8 forward from Cairns, Australia, as he was tabbed Southland Freshman of the Year and honorable mention all-conference last year. He is averaging 12.5 points and a team-best 6.3 rebounds per game this season in addition to shooting 48.7 percent from the floor and 41.7 percent (35-of-84) from behind the 3-point line. Hill has posted two double-doubles and topped 20 points three times, including a 24-point, 11-rebound performance in the 80-75 victory at I-35 rival Texas State on Jan. 21. The Preseason Lou Henson All-American was tabbed Southland Player of the Week two days later and also has recorded 47 assists, 28 steals and 22 blocks this year. In conference play, he posted 12.9 points on 51.6-percent shooting and averaged 6.3 boards per contest.

Johnson, who hails from Dallas, collected the third All-Southland honor of his career. The 2010 Freshman of the Year and honorable mention selection last season ranks third on the team in scoring at 12.8 points per game and he also is averaging a league-best 2.3 3-pointers to go along with 3.3 rebounds per contest. The 6-foot-5 guard has drained a team-best 67 treys and his 43.2-percent success rate on 3-pointers ranks third in the circuit. He has scored 20-or-more points a team-high seven times, including a season-best 25 on the strength of a 6-for-7 night downtown in the 76-70 victory at Troy on Dec. 22. Johnson has made at least four 3-pointers in eight contests, including a career-best seven in the 91-50 rout of Nicholls on Jan. 4. He is shooting a team-leading 84.6 percent (44-of-52) at the free-throw line and 45.5 percent from the field overall in addition to contributing 35 assists and 31 steals.

Burrage, a 6-foot-2 guard from East Moline, Ill., received honorable mention accolades in his first season with the Roadrunners. The Des Moines (Iowa) Area Community College transfer leads UTSA in scoring at 13.8 points per game and his 41 3-pointers and .789 free-throw percentage both rank second. He also has shot 43.9 percent from the floor, averaged 3.3 rebounds and recorded 39 assists and 31 steals in his 31 outings. Burrage has eclipsed the 20-point barrier four times, including a season-high 22 in the 78-77 win against Oral Roberts at the Dick's Sporting Goods NIT Season Tip-Off on Nov. 15, and has reached double figures in 23 contests.

The trio has helped UTSA to an 18-13 overall record, including a 10-6 Southland mark, the program's best since the 2004-05 squad also went 10-6. The Roadrunners will be the No. 5 seed at this week's Southland Tournament, where they will open defense of their 2011 crown at 8:30 p.m. on Wednesday against fourth-seeded McNeese State (15-14) at the Merrell Center in Katy.

McNeese State's Patrick Richard repeated as Southland Player of the Year, while UT Arlington’s Kevin Butler and Scott Cross were the league’s Newcomer and Coach of the Year, respectively. Trevon Lewis of Nicholls was named Freshman of the Year.

2012 Men’s Basketball All-Southland Conference Teams
First Team
Antonio Bostic, Stephen F. Austin
Mike James, Lamar
William Mosley, Northwestern State
LaMarcus Reed, UT Arlington
Patrick Richard, McNeese State

Second Team
Jeromie Hill, UTSA
Bo Ingram, UT Arlington
Devon Lamb, Lamar
Anthony Miles, Lamar
Jereal Scott, Stephen F. Austin

Third Team
Kevin Butler, UT Arlington
Shamir Davis, Northwestern State
Melvin Johnson III, UTSA
LaQuentin Miles, Central Arkansas
Matt Staff, Texas State

Honorable Mention: Kannon Burrage, UTSA; Dontae Cannon, McNeese State; Terence Jones, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi; Trevon Lewis, Nicholls State; Jordan Reves, UT Arlington; Brooks Ybarra, Texas State.

Player of the Year: Patrick Richard, McNeese State
Newcomer of the Year: Kevin Butler, UT Arlington
Freshman of the Year: Trevon Lewis, Nicholls State
Coach of the Year: Scott Cross, UT Arlington

Men's Basketball News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
Rice Postgame Comments
North Texas Postgame Comments