Close Video
View larger
Courtesy: David Richard/DavidRichardPhoto.com
View larger
Hill named to collegeinsider.com Mid-Major Freshman All-America Team
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics Communications
Release: 04/13/2011
Print RSS
BOSTON, Mass. — Freshman Jeromie Hill was named to the collegeinsider.com Mid-Major Freshman All-America Team, the website announced Wednesday. He was one of 21 players selected to the squad from mid-major conferences and is the second in UTSA history, joining 2007-08 honoree Devin Gibson.

Hill, a 6-8 forward from Cairns, Australia, averaged 13.4 points and a team-best 6.6 rebounds per game and shot 47.5 percent from the floor, including 40 percent (42-105) from behind the 3-point line, leading all Southland Conference freshmen in those four categories in the process. The 2010-11 Southland Freshman of the Year and honorable mention all-conference selection registered four double-doubles, including becoming the first Roadrunner to post one in his debut with 16 points and 10 boards against Huston-Tillotson.

Hill helped UTSA post a 20-14 record for the school’s first 20-win campaign since 1991-92, a span of 19 years. He was voted to the All-Southland Tournament Team after averaging 19.0 points and 5.3 rebounds and shooting 62.9 percent, including 7-for-8 from downtown, to help the Roadrunners upset the top three seeds and capture their first tournament crown since 2004.

UTSA advanced to the NCAA Tournament where it defeated Alabama State, 70-61, on March 16 in the first round in Dayton, Ohio, to record the school’s first-ever NCAA postseason victory in any sport. No. 1 Ohio State ended the Roadrunners’ season two days later with a 75-46 setback in the second round in Cleveland.

2011 Mid-Major Freshman All-America Team
De'mon Brooks, Davidson  
Travis Bader, Oakland  
Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State  
Jeromie Hill, UTSA  
Juwan Howard Jr., Western Michigan  
Troy Huff, North Dakota  
Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount  
Lawrence Johnson-Danner, Texas Southern  
Frantz Massenat, Drexel  
Javon McCrea, Buffalo  
Jake Odum, Indiana State  
Josh Ritchart, UC Davis  
Evan Roquemore, Santa Clara  
Steven Roundtree, Oral Roberts  
Augustine Rubit, South Alabama  
Dartaye Ruffin, Drexel  
Devon Saddler, Delaware  
Danny Stewart, Rider  
Trey Sumler, Western Carolina  
Trent Wiedeman, College of Charleston  
Trey Zeigler, Central Michigan
Lucky Eagle Casino & HotelJoin Now
Advanced Online Store Ad
Start The Season In Style
UTSA Athletics Community Service