Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Nine Roadrunners named to Southland Conference All-Time Volleyball Honor Roll

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 11/18/2013
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

FRISCO — Eight current and former UTSA players, as well as former head coach Katrinka Jo Crawford were among Roadrunners that were named to the Southland Conference All-Time Volleyball Honor Roll, the league office announced on Monday in celebration of its 50-year anniversary.

In addition to Crawford, UTSA was represented by McKenzie Adams, Natasha Biggers, Meagan Daniel, Leslie Dodson, Kelsey Jewasko, Tamara Luckemeyer, Kendra Rowland, and Kelsey Schwirtlich.

Currently a senior for the Roadrunners, Adams was a 2011 All-Southland first team selection, 2011 Southland All-Tournament honoree and the 2011 Newcomer of the Year.

Biggers, collected two All-Southland first team selections in 1998 and 2000 and also was a 2000 All-Tournament pick.

Daniel garnered three All-Southland first team selections from 2003-05 and also was named the 2003 Freshman of the Year.

Dodson was the first UTSA player to be named Southland Player of the Year in 1992 and she also was chosen as a first-team All-Southland honoree and All-Tournament choice the same season.

Jewasko, a three-time All-Southland first team selection (2008, '10-11), was the 2008 and 2010 Libero of the Year and a 2011 All-Tournament selection.

Luckemeyer is the only two-time Southland Player of the Year in program history, as she won the award in both 1998 and 1999. Also a two-time first-team All-Southland selection those two seasons, she also was a two-time Southland All-Tournament choice (1997, 00) and was named the 2000 Southland Tournament Most Valuable Player.

Rowland was a two-time first-team All-Southland selection from 2008-09 and was the 2010 Southland Tournament MVP.

Schwirtlich was the league's 2011 Setter of the Year, a two-time first-team All-Southland selection from 2010-11 and 2010 All-Tournament pick.

Crawford was a three-time Southland Coach of the Year beginning in 1983 at Lamar, and then again in 1996 and 1999 at the helm of UTSA. She led the Roadrunners to the 1999 Southland Regular Season Championship and won Southland Tournaments from 1983-84 at Lamar and again in 2000 for UTSA. Crawford, who was honored posthumously as the namesake of Southland’s annual Coach of the Year Award. coached 13 first-team All-Southland players, four Players of the Year, three Newcomers of the Year and a pair of Freshmen of the Year.

Volleyball News
Charlotte Post-Match Comments
Oregon Post-Match Comments
Charlotte Highlights
Rice Post-Match Comments
UTEP Post-Match Comments
Houston Post-Match Comments
Volleyball Meet & Greet
Volleyball Season Tickets Promo