Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Jewasko named Southland Conference Libero of the Year

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics Communications
Release: 11/16/2010
Courtesy UTSA Athletics Communications
Print RSS
FRISCO — Junior Kelsey Jewasko headlined a list of five UTSA volleyball players that earned Southland Conference postseason honors, as announced by the league office on Wednesday.

Jewasko, who became the second player in conference history to earn Libero of the Year twice, paces a Roadrunners' contingent that also included three first-team selections and two honorable mention choices. UTSA matched Central Arkansas with a league-high five members on the three teams.

Senior Kendra Rowland and redshirt sophomore Kelsey Schwirtlich joined Jewasko on the first team, while senior Briana Mason and sophomore Whitney Walls rounded out the team's accoales, as both were honorable mention picks.

A two-time All-Southland performer, Jewasko was selected as the league's top defensive player for the second time in her three seasons. The San Antonio native leads the conference with 631 digs and ranks second with 5.44 per set. Jewasko earned three consecutive Defensive Player of the Week awards from Sept. 20-Oct. 4 and she has posted 30 or more digs four times this fall, including a career-best 33 against Elon on Sept. 4. Jewasko has amassed 1,607 digs in her career, which is the fourth-highest total in program history.

Rowland, now a three-time All-Southland selection, earned a spot on the top squad for the second time during her career. The Antioch, Calif., native leads UTSA with 361 winners (3.17 kps) and she ranks second with 297 digs (2.61 dps). Rowland has recorded a team-best 13 double-doubles and was named the Southland Offensive Player of the Week on Nov. 8. She ranks fifth in school annals with 1,564 winners and ninth with 1,342 digs.

Schwirtlich, who missed the 2009 campaign with a back injury. made a triumphant return to the court this season en route to earning her first-team nod. She stands third in the league in assists per set (9.78) and also is hitting at a .327 clip on the strength of 128 winners (1.17 kps). The Corpus Christi native is second on the squad with a dozen double-doubles and she recorded a career-high of 59 helpers in the season-opening win against Mississippi on Aug. 27.

Mason earned her first postseason honor from the league after recording 198 kills (1.90 kps) in the regular season. She leads the Roadrunners with 110 total blocks and ranks seventh in the circuit with an average of 1.06 per frame. The Dallas native is sixth in school history with her 276 total blocks.

Walls rounds out the team's honorees. The Arlington native ranks 11th in the conference in hitting percentage (.264) and is second on the squad with an average of 2.58 kills per set (292 this year).

UTSA (19-11), the No. 2 seed at this weekend's Southland Tournament in Huntsville, will open play at 11 a.m. on Friday against seventh-seeded McNeese State (14-17). The Roadrunners swept the Cowgirls on Oct. 9 in the only meeting between the two teams this season.

2010 Southland Conference Postseason Awards

First Team
Amanda Aguilera, UT Arlington, OH
Jayme Bazile, Lamar, MH
Marissa Collins, Central Arkansas, S
Amari Deardorff, Texas State, OH
Jessica Hays, Central Arkansas, OH
Kelsey Jewasko, UTSA, DS
Carli Kolbe, Sam Houston State, OH
Emma Ridley, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, OH
Kendra Rowland, UTSA, OH
Kelsey Schwirtlich, UTSA, S

Chloe Smith, Central Arkansas, OH
AJ Watlington, Texas State, OH

Second Team
Mary Caitlyn Bottles, Stephen F. Austin, MH
Amber Calhoun, Texas State, MH
Cristin Curl, Central Arkansas, DS
Danielle Daigle, Nicholls, DS
Bianca Sauls, UT Arlington, OH
Alicia Shaffer, UT Arlington, DS

Honorable Mention
Becky Bekelja, McNeese State, S
Kim Black, Sam Houston State, MH
Taylor Hammonds, Central Arkansas, MH
Kaylee Hawkins, Sam Houston State, OH
Christina Hobbs, Lamar, MH
Briana Mason, UTSA, MH
Katie Kennedy, McNeese State, OH
Laranda Spann, Northwestern State, MH
Whitney Walls, UTSA, OH

Player of the Year: Chloe Smith, Central Arkansas
Setter of the Year: Marissa Collins, Central Arkansas
Libero of the Year: Kelsey Jewasko, UTSA
Newcomer of the Year: Christina Hobbs, Lamar
Freshman of the Year: Marissa Collins, Central Arkansas
Coach of the Year: Steven McRoberts, Central Arkansas

Volleyball News
Charlotte Post-Match Comments
Oregon Post-Match Comments
Charlotte Highlights
Rice Post-Match Comments
UTEP Post-Match Comments
Houston Post-Match Comments
Volleyball Meet & Greet
Volleyball Season Tickets Promo