Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Five Roadrunners earn postseason accolades from Conference USA

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 05/21/2014
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

IRVING — UTSA landed four players on the All-Conference USA second team and one player on the All-Freshman Team, the league office announced on Tuesday.

Starting pitcher Brock Hartson, infielders Mike Warren and RJ Perucki and outfielder John Welborn each earned spots on the second team, while second baseman C.J. Pickering was named to the 11-man All-Freshman Team. The Roadrunners trailed only Regular Season Champion Rice for the most players named to both teams.

Hartson is the lone UTSA hurler represented on the all-conference teams. The sophomore right-hander has followed up his Louisville Slugger Freshman All-America campaign with a 6-3 record and 2.35 ERA. The Pearland native has a team-high 92 innings pitched, 75 strikeouts and allowed three earned runs or fewer in 11 of his 14 starts this spring.

Warren, the Roadrunners’ senior first baseman, earned his second-team berth after tying for the C-USA lead with 45 RBIs. The San Antonio native currently leads UTSA in batting average (.333), hits (70), on-base percentage (.409), and slugging percentage (.452). Warren also has a team-leading 21 multi-hit games and 14 multi-RBI contests. Additionally, Warren turned in a team- and career-high 30-game reached base streak earlier this season.

Perucki now has earned postseason awards in three different conferences after picking up third-team All-Southland Conference honors as a sophomore and first-team All-Western Athletic Conference accolades a season ago. The Tomball native is hitting .319 with 38 RBIs in his final season as a Roadrunner and has started 137 consecutive games.

Welborn, a senior from Sherman leads the circuit with 51 runs scored. UTSA’s right fielder has started all but one game during the spring and leads the team with 15 doubles. In addition to his 62 hits, Welborn also has walked 27 times and been hit by 10 pitches.

Pickering has started all but one game this spring at second base and currently ranks second in C-USA with 173 assists. The Houston native enters this week’s postseason tournament with eight extra-base hits and 23 RBIs.

FIU catcher Aramis Garcia was named the league's Hitter of the Year, while UAB right-hander Chase Mallard was named the Pitcher of the Year. Picking up Newcomer of the Year honors was Rice catcher John Clay Reeves and Freshman of the Year honors went to FIU right-hander Chris Mourelle. UAB head coach Brian Shoop was named the Keith LeClair Coach of the Year, while his aide, Josh Hopper became the inaugural winner of the Assistant Coach of the Year award.

The all-conference awards are voted on by league head coaches, sports information directors, and one media member per institution.

The No. 7 seed Roadrunners (32-24) will face UAB (35-19) in the opening round of this week's C-USA Tournament at 4 p.m. on Wednesday.

Baseball News
Baylor postgame comments
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi postgame comments
Texas A&M postgame comments
Oregon State postgame comments
Behind The Scenes: NCAA Tournament Corvallis...
Behind The Scenes: NCAA Tournament Corvallis...
NCAA Tournament watch party
Central Arkansas game