Shop Now
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Roadrunners receive Southland Conference Championship rings

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 09/06/2012
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

SAN ANTONIO — The UTSA women’s golf team received its 2012 Southland Conference Championship rings in a ceremony at Briggs Ranch Golf Club on Wednesday evening.

Following a round on the links with members of the "UTSA 24" booster club, the men’s and women’s team gathered to celebrate the Roadrunners' record-breaking season.

Led by senior Shannon Jungman and Southland Player of the Year Fabiola Arriaga, UTSA topped Texas State by five strokes to win its second consecutive conference title. Jungman led the field from start to finish and became the second individual conference champion in program history (Allie Jordan 2009) with a one-over-par 217 (70-73-74). Arriaga finished in second place, while Taylor Newlin tied for ninth.

The victory gave the Roadrunners a school-record four tournament titles (The Alamo Invitational/Islanders Classic/Insperity Lady Jaguar Intercollegiate) and the team recorded six top-five finishes for the second consecutive season.

UTSA matched its record for all-conference selections, as Arriaga and Jungman earned first-team honors, while Newlin and Paola Valerio took home second-team accolades. Meanwhile, head coach Carrie Parnaby collected her second consecutive Southland Coach of the Year award.

The Roadrunners hit the course for the first time this fall from Sept. 17-18 at the Dale McNamara Invitational in Tulsa, Okla.

Women's Golf News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments