Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Brown, Moser headline UTSA's All-Southland Conference honorees

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics Communications
Release: 04/27/2011
Courtesy UTSA Athletics Communications
Print RSS
FRISCO — Sophomore Tyler Brown and junior Daniel Moser both were named first-team All-Southland Conference to lead a contingent of seven UTSA players that earned postseason honors, the league office announced on Tuesday.

The Roadrunners' seven players were a circuit best and they tied Texas A&M-Corpus Christi with a conference-high five singles/doubles selections.

Brown and Moser both netted perfect 5-0 marks against league competition this spring.

Brown, a first-team selection at No. 3 singles, leads UTSA with a 14-5 overall mark. The New Braunfels native won a team-high eight matches in a row from Feb. 20-March 13, which included three wins against Southland opponents. He also was honored, along with freshman Yannick Junger, as the second-team No. 2 doubles pair.

Moser was named to the conference's top team at No. 6 singles. The Texarkana native has excelled in his first season with the Roadrunners, posting a 12-5 overall record, which are the most victories by a UTSA newcomer since 2007. He won five consecutive matches from March 6-17 and has been victorious in seven of his last nine overall. Moser lost to just one set to a conference opponent this year.

The Roadrunners also garnered the other two doubles spots on the second team.

Senior Daniel Moreiras and sophomore Martin Ayala were honored at the No. 1 doubles position, while senior Max Stratmann and freshman Kolby Kilgo were recognized at the No. 3 spot.

Stratmann now has collected conference postseason honors in each of his four years at UTSA. The Bonn, Germany, native was a first-team honoree at No. 4 singles last season, he collected second-team honors at No. 2 doubles in 2009 and was a member of the first team No. 3 doubles tandem as a freshman.

Meanwhile, Moreiras picked up his second doubles honor. As a freshman, the San Antonio native was a first-team selection at No. 2 doubles.

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi swept the conference's superlative awards, led by Player of the Year Laurent Montoisy. Matt Westmoreland was selected as Freshman of the Year, while Aurelien Tave picked up Newcomer of the Year honors. Steve Moore earned Coach of the Year accolades after leading the Islanders to the regular season title with a perfect 5-0 ledger.

Second-seeded UTSA (10-9) will open Southland Tournament play at 9 a.m. on Saturday against No. 3 seed UT Arlington.

Men's Tennis News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments