Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Werre tabbed second-team All-Southland Conference

Print RSS

FRISCO — Sophomore Ryan Werre was named second-team All-Southland Conference in a vote by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors, the league office announced Monday.

It marked the second all-conference honor for the Redcliff, Alberta, native, who collected Southland Freshman of the Year and third-team accolades a year ago. He is the fifth Roadrunner to earn multiple All-Southland honors, joining Kyle Collins (2007, ’09), Magnus Dohlvik (1997-98), John Elizondo (2004, ’06) and Gibby Martens (2000-02).

Werre led the Roadrunners with a 73.53 stroke average and five top-15 finishes, including three top 10s, this year. He tied for seventh place at last week’s conference tournament after carding a 224 (77-71-76) for his second consecutive top-10 league showing. He registered a season-best fourth-place finish with a career-low three-under 213 (70-72-71) at the Rice Intercollegiate in February and also cracked the top 10 with an even-par 214 (72-70-72) to tie for 10th at the Louisiana Classics in March.

Philipp Westermann of Southeastern Louisiana was named Southland Player of the Year, Juan Diego Plasencia of Texas State was voted Newcomer of the Year. Conference Champion Lamar saw Luke Jerling and Brian White be named Freshman and Coach of the Year, respectively.

2012 All-Southland Conference Men’s Golf Teams
First Team
M.J. Daffue, Lamar
Scott Kelly, Sam Houston State
Paul McConnell, UT Arlington
Mitchell McLeroy, Stephen F. Austin
Philipp Westermann, Southeastern Louisiana

Second Team
Antonio Costa, Central Arkansas
Garrett Driver, Sam Houston State
Xavier Feyaerts, Lamar
Luke Jerling, Lamar
Ryan Werre, UTSA

Third Team
Pep Angles, Central Arkansas
Hunter Brown, UT Arlington
Kristjan Einersson, Nicholls
Kevin Hesbois, Lamar
Rhys West, Southeastern Louisiana

Honorable Mention
Juan Carlos Benitez, Texas State
Cam Hollek, UT Arlington
Stetson McMillan, Stephen F. Austin
Juan Diego Plasencia, Texas State
Stuart Smallwood, Texas State

Player of the Year: Philipp Westermann, Southeastern Louisiana
Newcomer of the Year: Juan Diego Plasencia, Texas State
Freshman of the Year: Luke Jerling, Lamar
Coach of the Year: Brian White, Lamar

Men's Golf News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments