Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Werre named Southland Conference Freshman of the Year

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics Communications
Release: 05/02/2011
Courtesy UTSA Athletics Communications
Print RSS
FRISCO — UTSA freshman Ryan Werre was named Southland Conference Freshman of the Year and third-team all-conference and senior Lewis Chong picked up honorable mention accolades, as the league office announced its postseason awards on Monday.

Less than one week after tying for third at the conference championship, Werre became the first Roadrunner to earn postseason superlative from the Southland in 20 years as a member.

One of five players selected to the third team, he led UTSA with a 74.69 stroke average in 36 rounds during the 2010-11 campaign and posted the top spring average of 74.50. The Redcliff, Alberta, native fired rounds of 71, 69 and 74 en route to a two-under-par 214 in his best finish of the season at the Southland Championship last week in Fort Worth. That came one week after carding a season-low-tying 66 in the first round of the Aggie Invitational on the way to a seventh-place showing (66-79-72=217). He also posted top-20 finishes at the Lone Star Invitational (t-10th), Arizona Intercollegiate (t-18th) and Kauai Collegiate Invitational (t-19th) and his other round of 66 came at the Rice Intercollegiate in February.

Chong was one of five players to earn honorable mention accolades, which his first career postseason honor. The Lethbridge, Alberta, native ranked second on the team with a 76.00 stroke average in 36 rounds this season and also was second in the spring with a 75.38 mark. He wrapped up his UTSA career with his best tournament after turning in a two-over 218 (72-71-75) for a career-best ninth-place finish at the Southland Championship. Chong tied for 13th at the Jim West Intercollegiate after carding a 221 (73-73-75) and he posted 21st-place showings at the UTSA Oak Hills Invitational and Rice Intercollegiate.

Lamar’s M.J. Daffue, who won the league’s individual crown last week, was named Southland Player of the Year, while UT Arlington’s Paul McConnell and Jay Rees were tabbed Newcomer and Coach of the Year, respectively.

The All-Southland Conference postseason awards were selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

2010-11 All-Southland Conference Men’s Golf Team
First Team
M.J. Daffue, Lamar
Zack Fischer, UT Arlington
Steven Lecuyer, Central Arkansas
Philipp Westermann, Southeastern Louisiana
Wes Worster, UT Arlington

Second Team
Kevin Hesbois, Lamar
Paul McConnell, UT Arlington
Mitchell McLeroy, Stephen F. Austin
Cedric Scotto, Southeastern Louisiana
Jad Sinclair, Central Arkansas
Third Team
Javier Feyaerts, Lamar
Horacio Leon, Southeastern Louisiana
Stetson McMillan, Stephen F. Austin
Blaine Weiterman, Sam Houston State
Ryan Werre, UTSA

Honorable Mention
Lewis Chong, UTSA
Kristjian Einarsson, Nicholls
Alastair Jones, Texas State
Tom Moore, Texas State
Gideon Pienaar, Central Arkansas

Player of the Year: M.J. Daffue, Lamar
Newcomer of the Year: Paul McConnell, UT Arlington
Freshman of the Year: Ryan Werre, UTSA
Coach of the Year: Jay Rees, UT Arlington

Men's Golf News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments