Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Southland Conference announces all-time honor roll for men's indoor track & field

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 12/19/2013
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

FRISCO — The Southland Conference, as part of its year-long 50th Anniversary commemoration, announced its all-time men’s indoor track & field honor roll on Thursday.

The list includes 101 elite student-athletes in the sport going back to 1970, even though the Southland held its first indoor championship meet in 1980. Six head coaches also were recognized for their historic contributions to the sport.

"The Southland Conference has always prided itself on its successful track & field history and we’re pleased to recognize such an illustrious honor roll of great student-athletes and coaches," Southland Commissioner Tom Burnett said.

Performers selected had multiple accomplishments during their careers, including numerous conference championships won, records set, NCAA and National Championships, along with participation in international competition.

UTSA ranked second behind UT Arlington with 12 honorees. The Mavericks saw 20 of their athletes recognized.

Keith Benford, Larry Brooks, Steven Brown, Brandon Buteaux, Leonard Byrd, Richard Garrett Jr., Carl Johnson, Will Vese, Teddy Williams, Tyler Williamson, Tommy Wolfe and Justin Youngblood were the dozen Roadrunners honored, while Aaron Fox was one of the six head coaches recognized.

Southland Conference 50th Anniversary All-Time Men’s Indoor Track & Field Honor Roll
(UTSA honorees)

Keith Benford (jumps)
2010-12 Southland Indoor High Jump Champion; 2010 Southland Indoor Freshman of the Year; 2012 NCAA All-American (high jump).

Larry Brooks (distances)
2007 Southland Indoor 800 Meters Champion; 2007 NCAA All-American (800 meters).

Steven Brown (sprints)
2008 Southland Indoor 200 Meters Champion; 2008 Southland Indoor Championships High-Point Scorer (24); 2008 Southland Indoor Athlete of the Year.

Brandon Buteaux (multi-events)
2005-06 Southland Indoor Heptathlon Champion; 2005 NCAA All-American (heptathlon).

Leonard Byrd (sprints)
1994 Southland Indoor 400 Meters Champion; set meet record that year in preliminary round (47.34).

Richard Garrett Jr. (throws)
2011-12 Southland Indoor Shot Put Champion; 2011 Southland Indoor Outstanding Field Performer; 2011 NCAA All-American (shot put).

Carl Johnson (hurdles)
2001-03 Southland Indoor 60 Meter Hurdles Champion; 2003 Southland Indoor Outstanding Track Performer; set Southland all-time and meet record in 60-meter hurdles (7.81/2003).

Will Vese (hurdles)
2007-09 Southland Indoor 60-Meter Hurdles Champion.

Teddy Williams (sprints)
2008-10 Southland Indoor 60 Meters Champion; 2009-10 Southland Indoor 200 Meters Champion; 2009-10 Southland Indoor Outstanding Track Performer; 2009-10 Southland Indoor Athlete of the Year; set all-time Southland record in 60 meters (6.59/2009); owns Southland Indoor Championships record in 60 meters (6.64/2009); 2009-10 NCAA All-American (60 meters).

Tyler Williamson (jumps)
2011-12 Southland Indoor Long Jump Champion.

Tommy Wolfe (multi-events)
2008-09 Southland Indoor Heptathlon Champion.

Justin Youngblood (multi-events)
2001-02 Southland Indoor Pentathlon Champion; set Southland Indoor Championships pentathlon record (4,003 points/2002); 2004 Southland Indoor Heptathlon Champion; 2002 Southland Indoor High Jump Champion; 2002 Southland Indoor Outstanding Field Performer and High-Point Scorer (meet-record 30); 2004 Southland Indoor Championships High-Point Scorer (20.5); 2004 Southland Indoor Athlete of the Year; 2004 NCAA All-American (heptathlon).

Aaron Fox
2006-12 Southland Indoor Men’s Coach of the Year who led UTSA to a league-record seven consecutive team championships.

Men's Track & Field News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments