Shop Now
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Southland Conference announces Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Print RSS
FRISCO — Twenty-four student-athletes have been selected as 2011-12 Southland Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year, the league office announced Monday. Senior Kelsey Jewasko (volleyball) and junior Phil Steinert (men's track & field) were UTSA's honorees.

The Southland annually recognizes the outstanding male and female student-athletes from each of its league-member institutions. Student-athletes must be a letterwinner with a minimum 3.20 cumulative GPA and have completed at least two years of intercollegiate competition at the school from which he or she was nominated. The student-athletes were selected by their respective institution administrators.

The conference began selecting the award at the conclusion of the 1996-97 season.

2011-12 Southland Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year
· Central Arkansas: Katie McGregor (softball), Seth Allison (football)
· Lamar: Lisa Topping (soccer), Matt Johnsen (men’s cross country/track & field)
· McNeese State: Caitlyn Baggett (women’s basketball), Ben Chretien (men’s track & field)
· Nicholls State: Carolyn Noble (soccer), Jordan Hanberry (football)
· Northwestern State: Kelee Grimes (softball), Wade Williams (football)
· Sam Houston State: Morgan Davis (women’s track & field), Travis Watson (football)
· Southeastern Louisiana: Kyle MacIntosh (soccer), Jordan Hymel (baseball)
· Stephen F. Austin: Kylie Louw (soccer), Jarid Scarafiotti (baseball)
· UT Arlington: Courtney Zink (Softball), David Subirats (men’s tennis)
· UTSA: Kelsey Jewasko (volleyball), Phil Steinert (men’s track & field)
· Texas A&M-Corpus Christi: Hannah Schwarz (softball), Nathan Robinson (men’s tennis)
· Texas State: Kelsey Bernard (soccer), Tyler Sibley (baseball)

Men's Track & Field News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments