Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Southland Conference announces all-time honor roll for women's outdoor track & field

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 03/11/2014
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

FRISCO — The Southland Conference, as part of its year-long 50th Anniversary commemoration, announced its all-time women’s indoor track & field honor roll.

The list includes 117 elite student-athletes in the sport going back to the league's initial outdoor season of 1986. Five head coaches also were recognized for their historic contributions to the sport.

"Outdoor track & field has always been outstanding from the very early days of the Southland Conference all the way to today," Commissioner Tom Burnett said. "With the number of Olympians and NCAA Champions, you could actually make the argument that it's been our most successful sport at the highest levels of competition."

The Southland selected the performers that had multiple accomplishments during their careers, including numerous conference championships won, records set, National Championships, as well as participation in international and Olympic competition.

Texas State and UT Arlington led with 22 selections, while UTSA had a dozen.

Janet Booker, Katie Bragg, Kim Bush, Ryanne Dupree, Linda Garcia, Meg Harris, Tiffany Hart, Jessica Jones, Joanne Kinnard, Dana Mecke, Rhonda Ray and Tameka Roberts were the 12 Roadrunners honored, while Shawn Flanagan, who led UTSA from 1986-96, was one of the five head coaches recognized.

Southland Conference 50th Anniversary All-Time Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Honor Roll
(UTSA honorees)

Janet Booker (jumps)
1993-94 Southland Outdoor High Jump Champion; 1995 Long Jump Champion.

Katie Bragg (throws)
2011-12 Southland Outdoor Hammer Champion; holds all-time Southland record in the hammer (189-10/2012)

Kim Bush (throws)
1994-95 Southland Outdoor Shot Put Champion.

Ryanne Dupree (multi-events)
2004-05 and '07 Southland Outdoor 100-Meter Hurdles Champion; 2005 Southland Outdoor Heptathlon Champion; 2007 Southland Outdoor Long Jump and Heptathlon Champion; 2005 and '07 Southland Outdoor Athlete of the Year; 2005 Southland Outdoor Outstanding Track Performer; 2007 Southland Outdoor Outstanding Field Performer; 2005 Southland Outdoor High-Point Scorer (25.5); 2007 Southland Outdoor High-Point Scorer (39.5); set a Southland Outdoor meet heptathlon record in 2007 (5,593 points); 2004-05 and '07 NCAA All-American (heptathlon).

Linda Garcia (distances)
1993-94 Southland Outdoor 1,500 Meters Champion.

Meg Harris (distances)
1996 Southland Outdoor 3,000 Meters and 5,000 Meters Champion; 1996 Southland Outdoor High-Point Scorer (28).

Tiffany Hart (hurdles)
1999-2000 Southland Outdoor 100-Meter Hurdles Champion.

Jessica Jones (hurdles)
2008-10 Southland Outdoor 100-Meters Hurdle Champion.

Joanne Kinnard (distances)
1992 Southland Outdoor 1,500 Meters, 3,000 Meters and 5,000 Meters Champion; 1992 Southland Outdoor Outstanding Track Performer and High-Point Scorer (30).

Dana Mecke (distances)
2010 and '12 Southland Outdoor 1,500 Meters Champion and 2010 Southland Outdoor 800 Meters Champion; 2010 Southland Outdoor Athlete of the Year.

Rhonda Ray (multi-events)
2001-02 Southland Outdoor Heptathlon Champion; 2002 NCAA All-American (heptathlon).

Tameka Roberts (sprints)
1996 Southland Outdoor 100 Meters and 200 Meters Champion; 1997 Southland Outdoor 100 Meters, 200 Meters and Long Jump Champion; owns all-time Southland records in 100 meters (11.25/1997), 200 meters (22.94/1996) and long jump (21-10 1/2/1994); 1996-97 Southland Outdoor Athlete of the Year; 1996-97 Southland Outdoor  Outstanding Track Performer; 1995 Southland Outdoor Outstanding Field Performer; 1997 Southland Outdoor High-Point Scorer (41); 1996-97 NCAA All-American (100 meters/200 meters/long jump).

Shawn Flanagan
Currently the head coach at Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, Flanagan led UTSA to four Southland Outdoor Championships in 1992-94 and '96 and he was named league Coach of the Year each of those seasons.

Women's Track & Field News
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show