Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Get to know the UTEP Miners

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 07/16/2013
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

General information
Location: El Paso, Texas
Founded: 1914
Enrollment: 22,640
Nickname: Miners
President: Dr. Diana Natalicio
Athletics Director: Bob Stull
Football Facility: Sun Bowl (51,500)
Basketball Facility: Don Haskins Center (12,000)
Media Market: No. 91 El Paso (339,130 TV households)
Sponsored Sports: 16
Men (6) — basketball, cross country, football, golf, indoor & outdoor track & field
Women (9) — basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, indoor & outdoor track & field, volleyball
Coed (1) — rifle

On the Web
Facebook: UTEPAthletics
Twitter: @UTEPAthletics

Prominent facts
· UTEP was ranked 12th by Washington Monthly magazine for overall impact on students, surrounding region and the nation.

· The university's research expenditures have grown steadily to more than $76 million per year.

· UTEP recently invested $400 million to build state-of-the-art facilities in research, teaching, student support and athletics.

· The Miners have won a combined of 25 NCAA Division I Championships in addition to 78 conference titles. Perhaps the most notable of the achievements was the men’s basketball team beating Kentucky for the 1966 NCAA Championship. The game had a huge impact on race and sport with UTEP becoming the first team to start five African-Americans. The Miners are the only Division I university in the state of Texas to win an NCAA men’s basketball national title.

· Other national crowns for UTEP include 13 by men’s track & field and seven from men’s cross country.

· The men's cross country program has won four Conference USA Championships, including three consecutive from 2005-07. The 2007 squad recorded the league’s first perfect score by claiming the top five individual spots.

Notable alumni
· Nate Aarchibald — National Basketball Association Hall of Famer who is one of the league's 50 greatest players
· Bob Beamon — Olympic track & field gold medalist and world record holder in the long jump
· Hank Cohen — President, MGM Television
· Antonio Davis — Former National Basketball Association All-Star forward
· Sam Donaldson — Former ABC News anchor and reporter
· Maj. Gen. Stanley E. Green — U.S. Army
· Tim Hardaway — Former National Basketball Association All-Star and Olympic gold medalist
· Shoshana Johnson — U.S. Army Specialist and former Iraq POW
· Seth Joyner — Two-time Super Bowl champion and 1991 National Football League Defensive Player of the Year
· Bob O’Rear — Co-founder, Microsoft
· Nolan Richardson — Former NCAA men’s basketball head coach who led Arkansas to the 1994 National Championship

Women's Track & Field News
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show