Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Jeff Huehn/UTSA Athletics

Koser named to Southland Conference All-Academic team

Print RSS

FRISCO — Junior Taylor Koser was named to the Southland Conference All-Academic Team, the league office announced on Tuesday.

Koser ranked third on the team with a 76.15 stroke average in 27 rounds, including a 75.67 mark during the spring campaign. A business major with a 3.42 GPA, Koser shot a career-low two-under-par 70 in the second round of the Jim West Intercollegiate, a tournament in which Koser had his best finish of the season (26th). A two-time Southland Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll recipient, Koser finished tied for 29th at the conference championship.

Koser is the fourth Roadrunner to earn league all-academic honors, joining 2005 Student-Athlete of the Year and 2006 all-academic honoree Matt Johnston, 2007 member Thomas Kearney and 2004 honoree Mike Mezei.

Sam Houston State's James Glenn was voted the Southland Student-Athlete of the Year and he was joined on the All-Academic Team by teammate Kort O’Leary, Southeastern Louisiana's Rhys West, UT Arlington's Hunter Brown and Koser.

The Southland Awards Committee, which consists of one administrator from each of the 12 member schools, voted for the Student-Athlete of the Year.

The Student-Athlete of the Year award is presented to the student-athlete who achieves excellence in both academics and athletics. All nominees shall have earned at least a 3.2 GPA on a 4.0 scale and demonstrated achievement in athletics for at least two years at the nominating institution.

The all-academic teams are voted on by the league's head coaches, sports information directors and academic advisors from each Southland university. Student-athletes must possess a 3.0 cumulative GPA, have completed one full academic year at the nominating institution and participated in at least 50 percent of the team's competition to qualify for the all-academic squad.

2012 Southland Conference Men’s Golf All-Academic Team
James Glenn, Sam Houston State (Student-Athlete of the Year)
Hunter Brown, UT Arlington
Taylor Koser, UTSA
Kort O’Leary, Sam Houston State
Rhys West, Southeastern Louisiana

Men's Golf News
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Southern Miss Postgame Comments
Louisiana Tech Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show