Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Conference USA releases updated bowl game information on Thursday

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 06/05/2014
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

IRVING — Conference USA released updated information regarding its bowl partners for the next six seasons on Thursday.

C-USA will have nine bowl affiliations through the 2019 season, securing a minimum of five berths annually and offering fans a number of great destinations between the Atlantic and the Pacific Oceans.

C-USA has agreements with three new bowls: the Bahamas Bowl, Boca Raton Bowl and Miami Beach Bowl, along with a first-time agreement with the Gildan New Mexico Bowl in Albuquerque. Additionally, C-USA maintains relationships with three ESPN-owned bowls: Beef `O' Brady's Bowl in St. Petersburg, Fla., Heart of Dallas Bowl, and the Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl in Honolulu, as well as the R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl.

C-USA has secondary agreements with two bowls also located right within the league's footprint, giving teams the opportunities to participate in the Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl in Fort Worth and the Duck Commander Independence Bowl in Shreveport, La.

In these bowls, C-USA will have the opportunity to face opponents from the American Athletic, Big 12, Big Ten, Mid-American, Mountain West and Sun Belt Conferences.

C-USA has five primary agreements and one secondary agreement for the 2014 season. The Bahamas, Boca Raton, Gildan New Mexico, Heart of Dallas and Sheraton Hawai'i Bowls are primary agreements. The Duck Commander Independence Bowl is a secondary agreement.

C-USA's champion will select which bowl it would like to attend and the remainder of the selections will follow after that, with no particular set order.

C-USA will begin its partnership with the Gildan New Mexico Bowl to begin its bowl season on Saturday, Dec. 20, at 1:20 p.m. (CT) in Albuquerque, N.M. The league's representative will be matched up against an opponent from the Mountain West. The conference previously has participated in the New Mexico Bowl one time, as UTEP faced BYU in 2010.

The league will be a part of two brand-new bowls in warm, sunny climates when it faces a Mid-American opponent in both the Boca Raton and Bahamas Bowls. The Boca Raton Bowl will be held at FAU Stadium on the Florida Atlantic campus, with the inaugural game set for Tuesday, Dec. 23, at 5 p.m. (CT). The Bahamas Bowl is the only postseason game held outside of the United States and it will take place on Wednesday, Dec. 24, at 11 a.m. (CT) at Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium. Both games will be televised by ESPN.

Later on Dec. 24, C-USA will compete in the Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl in Honolulu for the 10th time in the bowl's 13-year history. The league's representative will face a Mountain West opponent in the game, which will kick off at 7 p.m. (CT) and be televised by ESPN.

C-USA will participate in the Heart of Dallas Bowl at historic Cotton Bowl Stadium on Friday, Dec. 26. The league's representative will face an opponent from the Big Ten in a game that will air on ESPN, beginning at 11 a.m. (CT). North Texas is the defending Heart of Dallas Bowl champion.

The league also has a secondary agreement to play in the Duck Commander Independence Bowl in Shreveport, La., should the ACC or SEC not be able to provide a team for the game. The 38th annual game will take place this December on ESPN.

As a member of the College Football Playoff, C-USA will be a part of one of the College Football Playoff bowls if it has the highest-rated champion from among the American, C-USA, Mid-American, Mountain West and Sun Belt.

Click here for more information about C-USA's bowl partners and the College Football Playoff.

Football News
Frank Wilson National Signing Day Press...
Frank Wilson Introductory Press Conference
Middle Tennessee Postgame Comments
Middle Tennessee Highlights
Monday Media Roundtable
Rice Postgame Comments
Rice Highlights
UTSA Football Insider