Shop Now
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: UTSA Athletics

Pair of former Roadrunners named to Southland Conference 1990s All-Decade Team

Courtesy: UTSA Athletics
Release: 03/06/2013
Courtesy UTSA Athletics
Print RSS

FRISCO — Former UTSA standouts Marlon Anderson and Roderic Hall were named to the Southland Conference 1990s All-Decade Team, the league office announced on Monday.

Anderson was a two-year letterwinner from 1994-96 and he scored 1,150 points in just 56 games (20.5 ppg) with the Roadrunners, the most points in school history by a two-year player and eighth-most overall. The East Chicago, Ind., native's average ranks as the second-best mark in school annals and he did most of his damage from behind the 3-point line. The 1995 Southland Newcomer of the Year drained 192 treys, which ranks third all-time, and Anderson still holds the school record for 3-point field goal percentage at 41.5 percent. He connected from long distance 96 times in each of his two campaigns, which are tied atop the single-season 3-point field list. A two-time first-team all-conference selection and member of the 1996 All-Southland Tournament Team, Anderson owns two of the top 11 single-game scoring performances with 38 at North Texas on March 4, 1995, and 36 against Northwestern State on Feb. 17, 1996.

Meanwhile, Hall was a two-year letterwinner from 1996-98 and he tallied 835 points in 53 contests (15.8 ppg), which ranks 21st on the school's career scoring chart. The Yoakum native was named 1998 Southland Player of the Year and first-team all-conference after averaging 17.4 points, 4.3 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.2 steals per game as a senior. The 1997 Southland Newcomer of the Year still holds the UTSA and Southland single-game scoring record with 52 against Maine on Dec. 6, 1997, and he also posted the sixth-best performance in school annals with 39 points at Louisiana-Monroe on Jan. 5, 1998. Hall's career scoring average is tied for sixth in school history and his 3-point field-goal percentage of 36 and 124 treys rank eighth and ninth, respectively, on the Roadrunners' all-time lists.

The pair joins 19 other players on the team, including 1990s Player of the Decade Reggie Jackson of Nicholls. Louisiana-Monroe's Mike Vining was voted Coach of the Decade.

The Southland previously has announced the All-Decade Teams in the 1960s, 1970s and 1980s and will recognize the All-Decade Team for the 2000s later this week.

To best assess the candidate pool for the all-decade team, the Southland developed a metric that analyzed numerous elements of a student-athlete’s performance and value within the league at the time. Most notably, the conference honored “real-time” factors such as all-conference selection by coaches and a player’s statistical performance among his peers at the time. Furthermore, other components of selection including a player’s effort toward helping his team win a championship or finish near the top of the conference, whether he earned individual honors from the league, participated in postseason tournaments and/or was drafted by the NBA or ABA at the time.

Southland Conference 1990s All-Decade Men’s Basketball Team

 Player School Years Played
Position Hometown
 Marlon Anderson UTSA 1994-96 G
East Chicago, Ind.
 Willie Brand UT Arlington 1987-91 G Omaha, Neb.
 Larry Carr Louisiana-Monroe 1993-95 G Athens, Ga.
 Rosell Ellis McNeese State 1995-97 F Seattle, Wash.
 Jeff Foster Texas State 1996-99 C San Antonio, Texas
 Kenderick Franklin Nicholls 1994-98 F Baton Rouge, La.
 Carlos Funchess Louisiana-Monroe 1989-91 G Magee, Miss.
 Roderic Hall UTSA 1996-98 G Yoakum, Texas
 Reggie Jackson Nicholls 1991-95 F/C Baker, La.
 Anthony Jones Louisiana-Monroe 1987-91 G Lake Providence, La.
 Gerard King Nicholls 1991-95 F/C New Orleans, La.
 Eric Kubel Northwestern State 1990-94 F Moreno Valley, Calif.
 Demond Mallet McNeese State 1996-2001 G Leesville, La.
 Paul Marshall Louisiana-Monroe 1993-96 G Shreveport, La.
 Donte Mathis Texas State 1996-99 G San Antonio, Texas
 Jason McCutcheon Nicholls 1997-99 F Mobile, Ala.
 Ryan Stuart Louisiana-Monroe 1991-93 F Freeport, Bahamas
 Jesse Ratliff North Texas 1990-94 F Biloxi, Miss.
 Mike Smith Louisiana-Monroe 1998-2000 F West Monroe, La.
 Fred Thompson Louisiana-Monroe 1988-90 G Sumter, S.C.
 Lynwood Wade Texas State 1992-94 F Muskogee, Okla.
Player of the Decade: Reggie Jackson, Nicholls (1991-95)
Coach of the Decade: Mike Vining, Louisiana-Monroe

Men's Basketball News
Western Kentucky Postgame Comments
Florida Atlantic Postgame Comments
FIU Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
UTEP Postgame Comments
The Brooks Thompson Coach's Show
Rice Postgame Comments
North Texas Postgame Comments